Email: reservations@perugrandtravel.com


Book 24 hours



Puno city is the capital of the department of Puno. It was founded with the name of “Villa Rica de San Carlos de Puno” in 1668, by the Viceroy Count of Lemos, to end with the problems of possession of the silver mines of Laicacota of the brothers Gaspar and José Salcedo.


The weather is cold and semi-dry. The rainy season begins in October and ends in April.

How to get there

By Bus:

From the city of Lima, the overland journey takes 18 hours with a stopover in the city of Arequipa: 1324 km / 823 miles. From Cusco to Puno about 10 hours, 384 km / 239 miles, also you can go by train (Cusco-Puno)

By air:

Juliaca is one hour from Puno, there is the Inca Manco Capac Airport which receives flights from the cities of Lima, Cusco and Arequipa. Flight from Lima to Juliaca lasts 1 hour and 45 minutes, with a stopover in Arequipa and from Arequipa 25 minutes. Lan Peru has three daily flights from Lima to Puno, the three routes are made with a stopover in Cusco.

Distances to Puno

Puno to: Cities Distance
Lima 817 miles (1315 Km)
Arequipa 201.9 miles (325 Km)
Cusco 241.7 miles (389 Km)

Good To Know

Visa Requirements
Visa in not needed for EU citizens. Everyone else need a visa.
Languages spoken
Currency used
Peruvian Sol (PEN)
Area (km2)
66,997 km2

Attractions in the City

  • Cathedral of Puno
  • San Juan Church
  • Balcony of Conde de Lemos
  • Lake Titicaca
  • Uros and Taquile islands
  • Amantani Island
  • Sillustani Island
  • Lake Titicaca Ruins